Log in with your email address username.


Attention doctorportal newsletter subscribers,

After December 2018, we will be moving elements from the doctorportal newsletter to MJA InSight newsletter and rebranding it to Insight+. If you’d like to continue to receive a newsletter covering the latest on research and perspectives in the medical industry, please subscribe to the Insight+ newsletter here.

As of January 2019, we will no longer be sending out the doctorportal email newsletter. The final issue of this newsletter will be distributed on 13 December 2018. Articles from this issue will be available to view online until 31 December 2018.

AMA members honoured in Mongolia

- Featured Image

Last month, in a private audience with the Mongolian President, four Australian doctors were awarded the Mongolian Silver Friendship Medal (Nairamdal).

Medical specialists, and AMA members – Dr Kym Jansen, Dr Emma Readman, Dr Samantha Hargreaves, and Dr Philip Popham – were honoured for their contribution to health care in Mongolia.

The Medal is the highest honour bestowed upon a foreign citizen by the Mongolian Government, and is solely given to foreigners who have contributed to strengthening the collaboration between their country and Mongolia through their work.

These four doctors are the first Australians to be awarded the Friendship Medal. Dr Elizabeth Farrell AM, a member of the same group, was awarded a visiting Professorship from the Mongolian National University of Medical Sciences.

These amazing doctors have been visiting Mongolia annually for the past 10 years.

The group initially concentrated on promoting minimally invasive gynaecological surgery, but recently expanded their role to encompass all aspects of women’s health, including anaesthetic care. The affiliation has seen rapid advances in surgical, anaesthetic, and obstetric care.

Over the last two years, the Epworth Foundation has expanded this project by funding three-month scholarships for two doctors from Mongolia to visit Australia annually.

The group has recently formed the Mongolian Australian Medical Affiliation (MAMA) – Women’s Health, and plan to continue their collaboration.

*In Photo are left to right: Dr Samantha Hargreaves, Dr Philip Popham, Dr Emma Readman, Dr Kym Jansen, Mongolian President, Khaltmaagiin Buttulga and Dr Elizabeth Farrell