Log in with your email address username.


Australia Day honours

- Featured Image

Former AMA President Dr Brendan Nelson and former Treasurer Peter Ford are among almost 30 AMA members recognised for their outstanding service to medicine and the community in the 2016 Australia Day honours.

Dr Nelson, who led the AMA between 1993 and 1995 before entering federal politics and rising to become Defence Minister in the Howard Government and Opposition leader after the Coalition’s defeat in 2007, served as Australia’s ambassador to the European Union before returning to Australia to become Director of the Australian War Memorial.

Dr Nelson has been made an Officer (AO) in the general division of the Order of Australia, in recognition of distinguished service to Federal Parliament, the advancement of Australia’s international relations and service to major cultural institutions.

Several other AMA members were similarly honoured, including Monash University Pro Vice Chancellor Professor David Copolov, anaesthetist Professor Kate Leslie, clinical immunologist Professor Robyn O’Hehir, ophthalmologist Professor Minas Coroneo and gastroenterologist Professor Finlay Macrae.

Adelaide GP Dr Ford, who served in several senior roles within the AMA including as Federal Treasurer, was awarded an Order of Australia (AM) for his work representing the medical profession and promoting the delivery of health care for the elderly.

Another GP, Dr Vlasis Efstathis, was also awarded an AM for services to community health and medicine. Dr Efstathis has been a GP since 1972 and was team leader of the tsunami relief effort in Banda Aceh in 2004.

Former Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists President Dr Ted Weaver, was awarded a Medal in the general division of the Order of Australia, as was Australian National University Adjunct Associate Professor Rashmi Sharma, who told Medical Observer the honour showed that “little GPs in the suburbs can sometimes be recognised”.

The following AMA members were recognised in the Australia Day honours:

Officer (AO) in the general division

Professor David Copolov
Professor Minas Coroneo
Professor Katherine Leslie
Professor Finlay Macrae
The Honourable Dr Brendan Nelson
Professor Robyn O’Hehir

Member (AM) in the general division

Mr Ian Carlisle
Dr Jay Chandra
Dr Timothy Cooper
Dr Vlasis Efstathis
Dr Peter Ford
Professor Mark Frydenberg
Dr Michael Gardner
Dr Myrle Gray
Dr Paul Mara
Dr Peter Pratten
Dr Lyon Robinson
Dr Brian Spain
Dr Roderic Sutherland
Dr John Vorrath
Associate Professor David Watson
Associate Professor Julian White

Medal (OAM) in the general division

Dr Creston Magasdi
Dr John Paradice
Adjunct Associate Professor Rashmi Sharma
Dr John Tucker
Dr Edward Weaver


Adrian Rollins