Log in with your email address username.


Attention doctorportal newsletter subscribers,

After December 2018, we will be moving elements from the doctorportal newsletter to MJA InSight newsletter and rebranding it to Insight+. If you’d like to continue to receive a newsletter covering the latest on research and perspectives in the medical industry, please subscribe to the Insight+ newsletter here.

As of January 2019, we will no longer be sending out the doctorportal email newsletter. The final issue of this newsletter will be distributed on 13 December 2018. Articles from this issue will be available to view online until 31 December 2018.

Live AMA National Conference

Medicare: midlife crisis?

Given the ongoing debate in Canberra over the Government’s proposed Medicare changes – including the infamous GP co-payment model – the theme is timely and appropriate. Policy sessions at Conference this year will explore the core areas and ideals that underpin the medical profession and the health system.

AMA 2015 National Conference Program

Friday, 29 May 2015

8:00-10:00am REGISTRATION
10:00-10:20am Welcome to Country

Australian National Anthem

10:20-11:05am President’s welcome and Opening Address

A/Professor Brian Owler

11:05-11:25am Minister for Health’s address – the Hon. Sussan Ley MP
11:25-11:45am Shadow Minister for Health’s address – the Hon. Catherine King MP
11:45-12:15pm Awards

Chair: Dr Beverley Rowbotham

MJA, MDA National Prize for Excellence in Medical Research

AMA Indigenous Peoples’ Medical Scholarship presentation

12:15 – 12:25pm A word from our platinum conference sponsor: Allocate software
12:25–1:30pm Lunch
1:30-1:45pm National Conference Proceedings

Chair: Dr Beverley Rowbotham

Notice of Meeting

Accreditation of Delegates

Adoption of Standing Orders

Adoption of the Minutes of the 2014 National Conference

Outcomes of the 2014 National Conference

Motions on Notice

1:45-3:15pm Policy Session 1: Funding quality general practice – is it time for change?

Chair: Dr Brian Morton

Coordinator: Mr Warwick Hough


  • Dr Tim Ross
  • Dr Tony Lembke
  • Dr Tony Bartone
  • Dr Steve Hambleton
3:15-3:45pm Afternoon Tea
3:45-4:00pm Roll of Fellows

Chair: Dr Beverley Rowbotham

4:00-4:30pm Annual General Meeting
4:30-6:15pm President’s Welcome Reception

National Tobacco Scoreboard/Dirty Ashtray Award

AMA Media Awards (State and Federal)

Woman in Medicine award

Excellence in Health Care Award

7:30-11:00pm Leadership Development Dinner

Rydges Rooftop Bar – Guest Speaker: The Hon. Julia Gillard*

*The Hon. Julia Gillard appears by arrangement with Michael Cassel group with all fees donated to the Brookings Institution.

Saturday, 30 May 2015

9:00-10:30am Policy Session 2: Quality public hospital services: funding capacity for performance

Chair: A/Professor Brian Owler

Coordinator: Mr Martin Mullane


  • Dr Diane Watson
  • A/Professor Tim Greenaway
  • The Hon. Cameron Dick, Queensland Minister for Health
10:30-11:00am  Morning Tea
11:00-12:30pm Policy Session 3: Waste not, Want not: Ethics, Stewardship and Patient Care

Chair: Dr Michael Gannon

Coordinator: Dr Kate Stockhausen


  • Dr Sara Bird
  • Dr Ian Scott
  • Dr Lynn Weekes
12:30-12:45pm Sponsor: Palliative Care, Decision Assist presentation
12:45-2:00pm Lunch
2:00-2:15pm Australian Medical Students’ Association Presentation, AMSA President
2:15-3:45pm Policy Session 4: General practice training – the future is in our hands

Chair: Dr Danielle McMullen

Coordinator: Ms Sally Cross


  • Professor Simon Wilcock
  • Dr Sally Banfield
  • Dr Penelope Need
3:45-4:00pm Award Presentation
4:00pm Day 2 Concludes


7:00-11:00pm Gala Dinner

Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre

Gold Medal Presentation

Sunday, 31 May 2015

9:00-10:00 am Soapbox

Chair: Dr Beverley Rowbotham

10:00-10:30am Morning Tea
10:30-12:10pm Policy Session 5: Key AMA Public Health advocacy – local and global

Chair: Dr Stephen Parnis

Coordinator: Ms Belinda Highmore


  • Bruce Armstrong – Ebola
  • Duncan McConnel – Domestic violence
  • Dr Stephen Parnis – Climate change
12:10-12:30 Debate of Urgency Motions

Chair: Dr Beverley Rowbotham

12:30-12:44pm President’s closing address
12:45pm Conference Concludes

Please note that this program is subject to change.