Log in with your email address username.


Medical profession prominent in honours list

- Featured Image

Almost 30 AMA members have been recognised for their devotion to their communities and their service to the medical profession in a string of Queen’s Birthday honours awarded earlier this month.

The nation’s highest honour, Dame in the Order of Australia, was awarded to psychiatrist and New South Wales Governor Dr Marie Bashir for what Prime Minister Tony Abbott described as “a lifetime of achievement”.

“She has been an advocate for the disadvantaged and marginalised in the community, particularly those with mental illness,” Mr Abbott said. “Her contribution has also lifted the quality of health care in the Asia Pacific region, training and inspiring many medical practitioners to provide life-changing health care to so many.”

GPs, medical researchers, specialists and public health experts were also recognised in the honours list.

Florey Institute paediatric neurologist Professor Ingrid Scheffer, who is at the leading edge of research into the identification of epilepsy syndromes and genes, was named as an Officer of the Order of Australia for her decades of work as a clinician, academic and mentor as well as her research.

Deputy Commissioner of the Mental Health Commission of NSW, Professor Alan Rosen, was another recipient of the Officer of the Order of Australia award in recognition of his enormous contribution to the development of the nation’s mental health sector.

Medical ethicist and Professor of Medicine at Monash University Paul Komesaroff was made a Member of the Order of Australia for his enormous contribution to the medical community, both in Australia and abroad, particularly his investigations into the social and cultural dimensions of health and health care, and his ability to build multidisciplinary collaboration, both nationally and internationally.

Former AMA Vice President Dr Gary Speck was also made a Member of the Order of Australia for his significant contribution to medicine as an orthopaedic surgeon, for his dedication to the medical profession through his work at the AMA and other professional organisations, and his services to Government.

James Cook University professor of obstetrics and gynaecology Professor Caroline De Costa was another AMA member created a Member of the Order of Australia in recognition of her outstanding contribution to medicine, particularly her work on Indigenous and women’s health issues. Among her work, she is researching ways to reduce the incidence of foetal alcohol syndrome in Indigenous communities in far north Queensland.

Other AMA recipients of Queen’s Birthday honours for 2014 were:


Professor Barry Baker AM

Professor Peter Fletcher AM

Professor Geoffrey Driscoll OAM

Dr Francis Cheok – AMA OAM

Dr Cameron Henderson OAM

Dr Yusufali Khalfan OAM


Professor Peter Charles Blumbergs AO

Professor Leslie Cleland AM


Dr Jonathan Gareth Burdon AM

Dr David Griffiths Campbell AM

Professor Richard George McLean AM

Professor Henry Miles Prince AM

Professor Jeffrey Szer AM

Professor James Tatoulis AM

Dr James Allan Mawdsley OAM

Dr Andrew David Pattison OAM

Dr John David Scarlett OAM


Professor Michael Levy, AM

Dr Peter Hughes – OAM  (former AMA ACT President and Fellow of the AMA)


Dr Alastair Alexander Mackendrick – OAM


Professor Ian Wronski AO

Dr Zelle Carmel Hodge AM